First commissions

After I started posting my weaving to Facebook in early 2015, a few friends commissioned belts or straps from me. I only charged for my materials, not time or effort, and stressed that I was a beginner so there were definitely going to be mistakes and I couldn’t guarantee how the bands would hold up. I wasn’t even familiar with the fiber I was using, Pima Cotton Ultra Fine. The book recommended using “weaving yarn”. My LYS [local yarn shop] was not familiar with that and recommended this. It worked to learn with. Greek Key was the pattern everyone asked for out of the few I could offer. It’s always been one of my favorite motifs, which is why it was one of the first patterns I learned. It was Pattern Draft 13 in the second edition of Candace Crockett’s Card Weaving. I focused on the patterns that I thought may be most likely to be like what was woven historically.

These were woven over February through April, 2015. I was weaving about two belts a month. The brown and green was my first art trade! I wove it in exchange for a linen lined wool viking hat, as one of my personae at the time was generic viking and I couldn’t get the pieces to lay right. I wove it for https://instagram.com/badgerreclaimed who will be reopening her Etsy shop soon. The green/ natural and blue/ natural were commissioned by a friend of mine, Sho’nuff, who is a Tuchux. He was particularly supportive when I started card weaving and still compliments my work and my progress. Support and encouragement meant a lot to me when I first started. It means a lot to me, now, but it seemed so difficult at first that I needed outside encouragement and people showing interest kept me working at it.

The double sided bands happened to use an entire skein of each color, which were 136 yards long.

My first four commissions all happened to be Greek Key.

Published by ScheinySCA

I've been encouraged to start a blog to catalogue my crafting for the SCA. I won't update this regularly or frequently. Here's hoping I don't forget about it. And more hope that I figure out how to use this passably. Card weaving, sewing, finger loop braiding, sprang

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started