Drachenwald 30 Day Challenge

Drachenwald is starting a 30 Day Arts Challenge in November. Every day, you spend 15 minutes on art. It could be sewing, researching (Pinterest counts), calligraphy, block printing, stained glass, etc.

Monday, Nov 1st I accompanied William to Monday night fighter practice. I spent the time sorting out a card weaving warp that had gotten disheveled from toting it about.

A later day that week I started hand sewing the top of a center- set gore, including French seaming, an endeavor that I’ve put off for three+ years.

The next day, I finished it. It’s a little puckered, and I’m very mad it’s off-center. It’s definitely noticeable because it’s a different color. But it’s done.

Friday the 5th we prepared the custard for a quiche in case we needed lunch at an event Sunday. Not exactly art [not that it can’t be, but specifically I’m certainly no artist in the kitchen] but relevant to SCA participation.
We didn’t eat it for lunch, but it’s been nice to have it this week.

Sunday I didn’t weave, but I brought my loom along.

Monday, Nov 8th, I hand sewed the top of the back center set gore. It’s not perfect, either, but it’s better than the front one I sewed last week. And it’s centered. Of course.
I also wove during fighter practice.

Today, Day 9, I hand sewed a rolled hem on two wool gussets I need to put into a wool tunic. I have one and a half sides to hem on one gusset.
I also posted a short entry about the gussets and tweaked past entries mostly with tags. That’s all after I recovered my forgotten password, oops.

Then, I want to roll the edges of the sleeves before whip stitching the gussets into place. The edges of the body of the tunic are already rolled and ready to be connected. I hope to get it wearable for Saturday.

All these things took far longer than fifteen minutes each. I don’t work quickly.

Published by ScheinySCA

I've been encouraged to start a blog to catalogue my crafting for the SCA. I won't update this regularly or frequently. Here's hoping I don't forget about it. And more hope that I figure out how to use this passably. Card weaving, sewing, finger loop braiding, sprang

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started